South Carolina's 1868 Radical Members of the Legislature


Many of the Black delagates were former slaves. African Americans, were then, the majority of delagates. In 1868, there were 124 delagates at the Convention, of that number there were approximately 74 African American delagates. The New York Times, January 21, 1868 pp 2 - 3 ran the following:


"The Colored Delagates the Ablest and most Respectable"

The colored men in the Convention posses by long odds the largest share of mental calibre. They are the best debaters; some of them are peculiary apt in raising and sustaining points of order; there is a homely but strong grasp of common sense in what they say, and although the mistakes made are frequent and ludicrous, the South Carolinians are not slow to acknowledge that their destinies really appear to be safer in the hands of these unlettered Ethiopians than they would be if confided to the more unscrupulous care of the white men in the body."


SC 1868 Radical members of the Legislature


Row 1

Harris, David
McKinley, Whitfield J.
Randolph, Benjamin F.
Wilder, Charles M.

Row 2

Boseman, Benjamin A.
Lomax, Hutson J.
Mays, James P.
Thomas, William M.
Wright, Jonathan J.

Row 3

Brodie, William J.
Cain, Lawrence
Cooke, Wilson
Hayes, Eben
Maxwell, Henry J.

Row 4

Duncan, Hiram W.
Nuckles, Samuel
Rivers, Prince R.
Saunders, Sancho
Smythe, Powell
Wright, John B.

Row 5

Burton, Barney
Hayne, Henry E.
Henderson, James A.
Hutson, James
Mickey, Edward C.
Mobley, Junius S.
Nash, William B.
Shrewsbury, Henry L.
White, John Hannibal

Row 6

Chestnut, John A.
Gardner, John
Lee, Samuel J.
McDaniels, Harry
Simons, William M.
Smith, Abraham W.

Row 7

Farr, Simeon
James, Burrell
Johnson, William E.
Meade, James W.
Perrin, Wade
Rainey, Joseph H.
Swails, Stephen Atkins
Thompson, Benjamin A.
Wimbush, Lucius W.







Last Update: 10/2008
Web Author: EE Vaughn
Copyright 2000 by Pastense2 - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED